

July 22, 2025

The Honorable Brooke Rollins Secretary U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Ave. S.W. Washington, D.C. 20250

Dear Secretary Rollins:

On June 17, 2025, USDA announced the termination of more than 145 awards totaling \$148.6 million. We ask that you provide a complete list of awards that USDA intends to terminate, including information about awardees, programs, funding amounts, and locations. We also ask that you provide further details on why these awards intend to be cancelled, as well as the legal basis for cancelling the awards, and if the funds are being repurposed, for what they will be repurposed.

Although the press release did not include full detail on which awards USDA intends to terminate, it did reference an awardee of USDA's Increasing Land, Capital, and Market Access Program (LCM). With funding provided by Congress, USDA created LCM to increase producers' access to land, capital, and markets, which is critical to the success of agriculture. We are concerned that cancelling awardees of USDA's LCM program is contradictory to our shared goal of safeguarding the future of American farmers and agricultural success. Furthermore, as the national age of U.S. farmers approaches 60, we must ensure that there is a next generation of well-resourced farmers and that they are set up to succeed.

We are concerned that money that has been or was flowing *directly* to American farmers, whether that was from USDA or through a cooperative agreement, is being cancelled.

Given these considerations, we request the aforementioned thorough and accurate information about USDA program awardees that will be cancelled related to the June 17 press release. We also request that you carefully reconsider planned terminations and how they may impact the health and resilience of American agriculture.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Tine Smith

Tina Smith
United States Senator

Raphael Warnock United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Peter Welch

United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator Adam B. Schiff
United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Ben Ray Lujan United States Senator

John Fetterman United States Senator